ISANCO Joins Multi-Party Group as Delegates to National Convention Announced

The political parties involved in negotiating a pre-election agreement to inaugurate a new government following next year’s election are pleased to announce that the Independent South African National Civic Organisation (ISANCO) is the latest political party to join this process. Alongside the DA, IFP, FF Plus, ActionSA, UIM and SNP, ISANCO becomes the seventh political party that will attend the upcoming National Convention on 16 and 17 August 2023 in Kempton Park, Gauteng.

ISANCO broke away from the ANC-aligned South African National Civic Organisation (SANCO) in 2021 over the failure to address corruption within the ruling alliance. In the 2021 local government elections, the newly-formed party won 14 council seats in areas previously dominated by the ANC.

The addition of ISANCO to the National Convention signifies that South Africans from all backgrounds, including those who had previously supported the ANC, are now looking for a credible alternative government that can move our country forward again. It also demonstrates our group’s ongoing efforts to bring on board like-minded parties who share our core values and desire to provide a real alternative to decades of ANC misrule.

We are further pleased to announce the names of the delegates from each party who will attend the National Convention under the guidance of independent chairperson Professor William Gumede and his capable team. The following men and women, drawn from all corners of South African society, will gather next week at the same venue where the historic CODESA negotiations took place, to engage and find a new way forward for our country:

  1. Prof William Gumede, Independent Chairperson
  2. Ms Nerine Kahn, Independent Advisor
  3. Ms Linda Vilakazi, Independent Advisor
  4. Mr Olmo von Meijenfeldt, Independent Advisor
  5. Ms Hawa Khan, Independent Advisor
  6. Mr John Steenhuisen MP, DA Federal Leader
  7. Ms Siviwe Gwarube MP, DA Chief Whip
  8. Dr Leon Schreiber MP, Advisor to the DA Federal Leader
  9. Mr VF Hlabisa MP, IFP President
  10. iNkosi EM Buthelezi MP, IFP Deputy President
  11. Mr SL Ngcobo MP, IFP Secretary-General
  12. Dr PJ Groenewald MP, FF Plus Leader
  13. Dr CP Mulder MP, FF Plus Chief Whip
  14. Mr W Wessels MP, FF Plus Whip
  15. Mr Herman Mashaba, ActionSA President
  16. Mr Michael Beaumont, ActionSA Chairperson
  17. Mr Athol Trollip, ActionSA Eastern Cape Provincial Chairperson
  18. Dr Zukile Luyenge, ISANCO President
  19. Mr Sonwabile Ndabambi, ISANCO Secretary General
  20. Ms Tobeka Patience Falteni, ISANCO Acting Treasurer
  21. Mr Neil de Beer, UIM President
  22. Ms Fatima Abdool, UIM Vice President
  23. Mr Jacques Taljaard, UIM Secretary General
  24. Mr Christopher Claassen, SNP President
  25. Mr Rea Moeketsi, SNP Deputy President
  26. Mr Charles Venter, SNP Deputy President